Cherry Blossoms

It’s that time of year in DC.

Tourists descend on the Tidal Basin, parades clog up the streets, and photographers snap photos for this year’s DC travel brochures.

If you’re a native like me, you avoid all of that.

Contrary to popular belief, there are cherry blossom trees all over the DC area and you don’t have to go to the Tidal Basin to see them.

IMG_2946

For me, I like to go to the Kenwood neighborhood where the streets are lined with cherry trees. I’ve been going since I was a little girl and there are some adorable pictures of me climbing the trees.

Of course as the years went on more people realized that Kenwood was a great alternative to the Tidal Basin and now the neighborhood employs off-duty cops to conduct traffic and stop people from climbing on the 80 year old trees. It can get quite crowded during peak.

The Georgetown Branch Trail runs right past the neighborhood so I decided to bike there with my dad today.

IMG_2928

When we got there I was happy to see that it wasn’t very crowded since it’s midweek and slightly past peak. I actually prefer going after peak because after every gust of wind the petals fall down like snow!

We didn’t stay very long, just long enough for me to snap some pictures and get my obligatory yearly cherry blossom selfie.

IMG_2934

After, we biked over to the store to pick up some groceries and stopped at Georgetown Bagelry which makes proper New York style bagels.

IMG_2979

They also have this hilarious sign out on their patio!

IMG_2980-1

I’m glad I went to see the cherry blossoms this year even if it was briefly. To me they signal the height of spring which means summer is right around the corner!

 

Leave a Reply

